Sudden cardiac arrest takes ~350,000 American lives each year. Survival can exceed 70% when a shock is delivered within 3 minutes. Get CPR + AED trained at AED Leader →
›
›
Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite: Is It Worth It? (2026)
AED

Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite: Is It Worth It? (2026)

Updated 30 Sep 2026Editorially reviewed6 min read
AED Best Brands thumbnail: Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite Is it worth it?

By the AED Best Brands editorial team. Updated 30 Sep 2026.

Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite price 2026: $875 at AED Leader, checked 25 Sep 2026. 3-year warranty. Included: pads and battery pre-installed, carry case, first responder kit, inspection tag, window decal, free shipping. SKU M5066A-Rec. FDA-approved (PMA P160029).

Buy at AED Leader, $875Response Ready, $875

Philips HeartStart OnSite: new, recertified and package side by side (AED Leader, 25 Sep 2026)
OptionPriceWarrantyWhat is includedBuy
Recertified$8753-year warrantypads and battery pre-installed, carry case, first responder kit, inspection tag, window decal, free shippingAED Leader · RR
New (M5066A)$1,5898-year warrantySMART Pads cartridge and battery pre-installed, carry case (slim or standard)AED Leader · RR
Value Package$1,581.808-year warrantyAED, spare adult pads, slim case, wall cabinet, responder kit, sign, poster, inspection card, decalAED Leader · RR

Already own a Philips HeartStart OnSite? Pads M5071A $99 (2-year shelf life) · Battery M5070A $249 (4-year standby) · Pediatric pads M5072A $139. All at AED Leader, prices checked 25 Sep 2026.

Quick answers: price, warranty, what is included (6)

How much does the Philips HeartStart OnSite cost in 2026?

At AED Leader on 25 Sep 2026: new $1,589 (8-year warranty); recertified $875 (3-year warranty); value package $1,581.80 (8-year warranty). Response Ready lists the same prices.

Is a recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite safe?

Yes. It is the same FDA-approved (PMA P160029) device, tested before sale and sold with pads and battery pre-installed, carry case, first responder kit, inspection tag, window decal, free shipping. AED Leader backs it with a 3-year warranty; most refurbishers give 1 year.

Philips HeartStart OnSite: recertified or new?

Recertified saves $714 ($875 vs $1,589 new). New carries the 8-year warranty. Choose recertified for a single site on a budget; choose new if you want the longest warranty.

What comes with the Philips HeartStart OnSite Value Package?

AED, spare adult pads, slim case, wall cabinet, responder kit, sign, poster, inspection card, decal. It costs $1,581.80, $7.20 less than the device alone ($1,589).

How long do Philips HeartStart OnSite pads and batteries last?

Pads M5071A: 2-year shelf life, $99 at AED Leader. Battery M5070A: 4-year standby, $249 at AED Leader. Replace pads after any use.

What warranty does the Philips HeartStart OnSite have?

New: 8-year warranty; recertified: 3-year warranty; package: 8-year warranty.

In this guide
Decision shortcut Yes, a recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite is safe to rely on when the seller publishes its test process, fits new Philips pads and a new Philips battery, and puts the warranty in writing. AED Leader sells it at $875, against $1,589 for the same device new, a saving of $714 or 45 per cent. Both prices verified 21 September 2026 at AED Leader and Response Ready. It remains the only AED sold without a prescription. Buy it for homes, churches and second units where budget decides. Skip it if you want the full 8-year new-unit warranty, or need CPR depth coaching, where the ZOLL AED Plus is the answer.

The Philips HeartStart OnSite is already the value pick of the Philips line. The recertified version takes the same device, the same voice coaching, the same over-the-counter status, and removes several hundred dollars from the price. That is the entire pitch, and for most budget-driven buyers it is enough. What you give up is warranty length and the factory-fresh serial number. What you keep is everything that makes the OnSite the most-deployed home and small-business AED in the US.

This review covers what recertification actually means, what you keep, what you give up, and the specific buyer profiles where that saving belongs in your pocket rather than in the box.

Verdict: the cheapest legitimate way into a Philips AED

Our verdict

Same device, same FDA approval pathway, at a lower stock-dependent price

A recertified OnSite is not a different product. It is the identical M5066A hardware, resold after inspection and testing by a distributor, below the $1,589 2026 list price; the exact figure moves with stock, so verify the current listing. AED Leader backs its recertified units with a minimum 3-year warranty and states each unit passes its published 9-point certification process before sale. The trade is warranty length: 3 years versus 8 on a new unit. If the device will sit in a home, a church, or a small office where the alternative was buying nothing, the recertified OnSite is the strongest dollar-for-dollar defibrillator purchase on this site.

Check recertified OnSite stock at AED Leader →

Refurbished Philips HeartStart OnSite AED: refurbished, recertified and pre-owned are one device

Sellers use all three words for the same thing: a used Philips HeartStart OnSite (M5066A) that a biomedical technician has tested, cleaned, updated and fitted with a new SMART Pads cartridge and a new M5070A battery. What differs between sellers is the warranty and what ships in the box, which the seller table below compares. AED Leader: $875, price checked 18 September 2026.

What “recertified” actually means, and what it does not

Recertified is not a synonym for used. A used AED is a private resale with no inspection and no warranty, and we do not recommend buying one. A recertified AED comes from a distributor that inspects, tests, cleans and re-validates the unit, replaces expired consumables, and sells it with its own warranty. AED Leader, the distributor our links route to, states every pre-owned unit passes a 9-point certification process covering analysis, testing, cleaning and upgrades before it is listed[6].

Two things do not change with recertification. First, the regulatory status: the OnSite is an FDA-approved device under the premarket approval pathway that has been mandatory for AED systems since 2015[3], and that approval belongs to the device model, not to the individual box. Verify the current PMA record and labeling for your exact variant in the FDA PMA database[2] and check the model against the FDA recall database[4] before purchase, exactly as you would with a new unit. Second, the over-the-counter status: the OnSite’s no-prescription labeling applies to the model, so a recertified OnSite is still the one AED an individual can simply order[5].

The recertification process, compared across seven sellers

Seven sellers of recertified AEDs were checked on 12 September 2026. Five of them state a numbered recertification process. Only two publish what the numbers contain. AED.com asserts a 10-point process, CalMed asserts 10-point, AED Superstore asserts 10-point and American AED asserts an 18-plus point process, and none of the four lists a single step anywhere on the site, including their dedicated recertified landing pages and help-centre articles. AED Market gives no number at all.

SellerProcess claimedSteps publishedWarranty on a recertified unitReturnsNew OEM pads and battery stated
AED Leader9-pointYes, all nine3 years minimum30 daysYes, both
Response Ready9-pointYes, all nine3 years minimum30 daysYes, both
AED.com (Cardio Partners)10-pointNo3 years30 daysBatteries and adult pads
AED Superstore10-pointNo3 yearsNot statedYes, both
American AED18-plus pointNo3 yearsNot statedYes, both
CalMed Equipment10-pointNo4 years30 daysYes, both
AED Market (CoroMed)No number givenNo1 year30 days, then 20 per cent restockingYes, both

A number with no list behind it is a marketing claim, not a specification. When two sellers quote 10-point and 9-point, the one you can read is the one you can hold them to.

The nine steps, as published

These are the steps AED Leader and Response Ready publish for every recertified unit, including this OnSite. Reproduced so they can be checked against any other seller's claim.

  1. The unit is tested on a Fluke Impulse 7000 defibrillator analyser, simulating a shockable rhythm to confirm joule output.
  2. The performance record is documented on both paper and digital media.
  3. New genuine OEM pads and a new genuine OEM battery are fitted, at the maximum available expiry length.
  4. The unit is upgraded to the current AHA guidelines.
  5. It is cleaned and sanitised and given a full digital inspection, with the lid or case replaced if needed and a new first responder kit included.
  6. Internal circuitry is tested to confirm the unit will keep running its periodic self-tests after it ships.
  7. It is packed and shipped to medical device shipping requirements.
  8. Pad and battery expiry dates are archived so 60-day and 30-day replacement notices can be issued.
  9. EMS and FDA compliance follow-up is completed and tracking data is submitted to the manufacturer, so the owner is reachable in a recall.

Step nine is the one buyers overlook and the one that matters most. An AED that is not registered with the manufacturer cannot be reached when a recall is issued, and a unit bought privately or from a marketplace listing usually is not.

The warranty line nobody prints

Read this before you compare warranties Every warranty in the table above is a seller warranty, not a manufacturer warranty. No AED manufacturer publishes any authorisation of third-party refurbishment or recertification. Philips instructs owners to return a unit needing repair to an authorised service centre and states there are no user-serviceable components inside. HeartSine is the most explicit of the manufacturers: it states that its device warranty applies only to the original end user, may not be transferred, and is void if the device was bought from anyone other than an authorised agent.

That does not make a recertified AED a bad buy. It makes the seller's warranty the entire warranty, which is exactly why the spread between one year and four years is the number to compare, and why a seller who will not tell you what their process contains is asking for more trust than they have earned.

Where this sits with the FDA

The FDA's final guidance Remanufacturing of Medical Devices, issued 9 May 2024, draws the line between servicing and remanufacturing at one test: whether the work significantly changes the finished device's performance specifications, safety specifications or intended use. Work that returns a device to the original manufacturer's specification and original intended use is servicing. Every seller in the table frames its work exactly that way, and none of them claims registration as a remanufacturer. The recertified OnSite you buy is the same device under the same premarket approval, P160029, that the new one carries.

Is a refurbished Philips AED safe?

Yes, when the seller documents the work. A recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite is the same FDA-approved (PMA P160029) M5066A, inspected and tested, with new pads and a new battery fitted. AED Leader sells it at $875 with a 3-year warranty, a 9-point inspection and a 100% money-back guarantee. Avoid private used units with no test record or warranty.

Check the $875 recertified OnSite at AED Leader · Response Ready for 5 or more units

New vs recertified: the honest comparison

FactorNew OnSite (M5066A)Recertified OnSite (M5066A-Rec)
Price, checked 21 Sep 2026$1,589$875 at AED Leader and Response Ready
HardwareIdenticalIdentical, inspected and re-validated
FDA statusFDA-approved model (PMA pathway)Same, approval follows the model
Prescription neededNoNo
Warranty8 years, PhilipsMinimum 3 years, distributor
Pads and batteryNew in boxDistributor states new accessories; confirm at order
Best forGrant purchases, longest ownershipHomes, churches, second units, tight budgets

The warranty gap is the real cost of the discount. Eight years of Philips coverage against a minimum of three from the distributor. Price that gap honestly: the purchase saving buys roughly five fewer covered years. If your deployment plan already replaces or upgrades units inside five years, you are paying for coverage you will never use, and the recertified unit wins outright.

Recertified Philips OnSite AED price: what nine US sellers charge

Prices checked 21 September 2026 on each seller's own listing. The bare recertified device runs $699 to $875, and the median across all nine is $775. A lower price usually buys a shorter warranty, and one seller ships a re-celled battery instead of a new Philips one.

SellerPriceWarrantyBatteryNote
Equipment Express$6993 yearsNewKit with adult pads, carry case and response kit
Live Action Safety$749.992 years, limitedIncluded, new not stated
Enerspect$7501 yearRe-celled, not new PhilipsStock not confirmed on the listing
AED.us (Encore Series)$7751 yearNew factory
AED Market$7751 yearNew30-day return, then 20 per cent restocking
CalMed Equipment$8004 yearsNew Philips
AED Leader$8753 years minimumNew PhilipsAll nine test steps published
Response Ready$8753 years minimumNew PhilipsMulti-unit and fleet orders
AED.com (Cardio Partners)$1,209.993 yearsNewHome package with accessories, not the bare device

Cheapest is not the test. Three checks decide whether a recertified unit is safe to buy: the battery is new Philips stock, not re-celled; the warranty is in writing and at least three years; the test process is published, not just numbered. Buying five or more units? Response Ready quotes fleet orders at the same $875 unit price.

The money math over a realistic ownership window

Five-year cost, checked 21 September 2026Pads and battery cost the same on either unit, so the purchase gap is the whole story. In five years both units need two replacement SMART Pads cartridges (two-year use-by date) at $99 each and one M5070A battery (about four years of standby) at $249, all AED Leader prices.

LineNew OnSiteRecertified OnSite
Device$1,589$875
Pads, 2 x $99$198$198
Battery, 1 x $249$249$249
Five-year total$2,036$1,322
Warranty8 years, Philips3 years minimum, distributor

The recertified unit saves $714 over five years, 35 per cent of the new-unit total.

See current recertified price →

Buy the recertified OnSite if you are

  • A homeowner or family protecting a household, where roughly 70% of out-of-hospital cardiac arrests happen[5], and $1,589 was the reason you had not bought one
  • A church, nonprofit or community building buying on donations
  • A small business adding a second or third unit to cut collapse-to-shock distance
  • A buyer standardizing on Philips who wants trainers and spares cheaply

Skip it and buy something else if you are

  • Spending grant or public money that requires new equipment with manufacturer warranty, buy the new OnSite
  • Deploying where children are a primary population, the recertified FRx covers pediatric use with its Infant/Child Key at a similar recertified price
  • Wanting real-time CPR depth coaching, no OnSite does that, the ZOLL AED Plus is the pick

Recertified alternatives worth pricing first

OptionPrice, 21 Sep 2026Why it winsWhy it loses
Recertified OnSite$875Cheapest OTC Philips, simplest handoff3-year warranty vs 8 new
Recertified FRx$875Rugged, pediatric key, same priceOverkill indoors
HeartSine 350P, new$1,411New-unit warranty, one-date consumable cartridge$536 more, prescription workflow
New OnSite$1,5898-year Philips warrantyMore up front for identical hardware

Not sure recertified is the right lane at all? Start with the refurbished AED guide for the full landscape, or take the 60-second quiz and let your building answer for you.

Recertified AEDs from $875: the 7 models that sell

Same FDA-approved (PMA) hardware for 38% to 58% less than new, each with a 3-year seller warranty at AED Leader. Prices checked 4 October 2026.

Recertified modelPriceNewYou saveBuy
Philips OnSite recertified$875$1,589$714 (45%)Check price
Philips FRx recertified$875$2,099$1,224 (58%)Check price
ZOLL AED Plus recertified$875$2,082$1,207 (58%)Check price
ZOLL AED 3 recertifiedfrom $1,150$2,399$1,249 (52%)Check price
HeartSine 450P recertified$875$1,761$886 (50%)Check price
HeartSine 350P recertified$875$1,411$536 (38%)Check price
Powerheart G5 recertified$1,225$2,157$932 (43%)Check price

Buying 5 or more? Response Ready handles fleet orders. Compare all of them in the best refurbished AEDs.

Recertified OnSite: the questions buyers actually ask

Is a recertified Philips OnSite safe to rely on?

The hardware is the same FDA-approved M5066A, and the distributor re-validates each unit before sale. AED Leader states every pre-owned unit passes its 9-point certification process and carries a minimum 3-year warranty. The device also self-tests daily, exactly like a new OnSite, and chirps when something needs attention.

Is it legal to buy a recertified AED?

Yes. AED systems are FDA-approved under the premarket approval pathway, and that approval follows the device model through authorized distribution. Verify the PMA record and labeling for your exact variant in the FDA PMA database before purchase, the same diligence we recommend for new units.

Do I need a prescription for a recertified OnSite?

No. The OnSite’s over-the-counter labeling belongs to the model, and it is the only AED with that status, so a recertified OnSite still requires no prescription.

What warranty does a recertified OnSite carry?

AED Leader lists a minimum 3-year warranty on recertified units. A new OnSite carries 8 years from Philips. That 5-year gap is the honest price of the discount.

Are the pads and battery new?

The distributor states units ship with new accessories. Confirm the pad and battery expiry dates on your order confirmation, and log both dates the day the unit arrives, recertified or new, that habit is the whole maintenance program.

Is Philips HeartStart discontinued?

No. The HeartStart OnSite (M5066A) is still listed as a current product on Philips’ US site as of September 2026, and the FRx and FR3 remain in the range. What has changed is naming: Philips calls the OnSite the HS1 in some markets, which is why you see both names on recertified listings.

Is there a recall on Philips HeartStart defibrillators?

There have been FDA Class 2 recalls on the OnSite in the past: a 2019 recall of 96 units for a circuit-board supplier issue (terminated by FDA in April 2024) and a 2021 notification recall covering earlier actions. Both were handled by free exchange. A recertification checks the serial number against these actions; ask the seller to confirm it in writing and check the FDA recall database yourself.

What is the life expectancy of the Philips HeartStart AED?

Philips does not publish an end-of-life date for the OnSite. Readiness is governed by the consumables: the M5070A battery is rated four years typical from installation and the SMART Pads cartridge at least two years from manufacture. Recertified units on the market today are commonly 8 to 15 years old and are sold with a new battery and pads.

How often do Philips AED pads need to be replaced?

Every two years at most: the SMART Pads cartridge is labeled with a use-by date of at least two years from manufacture, and after any use. Adult SMART Pads are $99 at AED Leader (18 September 2026). The battery is on a separate four-year cycle at $249.

Are refurbished AEDs worth it?

For most single-unit buyers, yes. A recertified OnSite costs $875 at AED Leader against $1,589 new, and over five years the totals are $1,322 against $2,036 because pads and battery cost the same on either unit. What you give up is warranty: a minimum of 3 years against Philips' 8. Buy new if the unit must stay under manufacturer warranty past year three or the purchase uses grant money that requires new equipment.

How much does a Philips HeartStart defibrillator cost?

At AED Leader on 21 September 2026: the HeartStart OnSite is $1,589 new or $875 recertified, the OnSite value package is $1,581.80, and the HeartStart FRx is $2,099 new or $875 recertified. Replacement OnSite SMART Pads are $99 and the M5070A battery is $249.

Recertified vs refurbished vs used: what is the difference?

Used means a private resale, no inspection, no warranty, avoid it. Refurbished and recertified are used interchangeably by most distributors and mean inspected, tested and re-validated units sold with a warranty. What matters is not the word, it is whether the seller publishes a process and stands behind the unit in writing.

Prices are 2026 US list or distributor listings current at publication and change without notice. Recertified inventory, included accessories and warranty terms are set by the distributor; confirm them on your order. Verify the PMA record, labeling and recall status of your exact variant before purchase. This page is editorial guidance, not medical or legal advice.

Key takeaways
  • •A recertified OnSite is the same FDA-approved device, restored: tested to spec, fitted with new pads and battery, and re-warrantied.
  • •It costs far less than new while keeping the same PMA approval (P160029). The value comes from a documented recertification, so ask for the test report.
  • •Good for homes and small offices: the OnSite’s SMART Pads and voice coaching suit untrained users. See how to choose a refurbished AED or best refurbished AEDs.
Recertified and ready

Get a recertified Philips OnSite

You know what recertified should include. See our recertified and refurbished units in stock with 2026 pricing, warranty terms, and fresh pads and battery.

FDA-approved via PMA2026 list pricingPads and battery guidanceIndependent of manufacturers
Free tools

Find Your Perfect AED

60-second quiz, no email

AED Cost Calculator

True 5-year cost

AED Quantity Calculator

3-minute coverage math

Recertified · checked 25 Sep 2026
Philips HeartStart OnSite
$875
  • 3-year warranty · FDA PMA P160029
Buy at AED Leaderor Response Ready, same price

In this guide

Related from the research desk

AED signage requirements 2026: the law, the sign and the cost thumbnail, AED Best Brands

AED signage requirements 2026: the law, the sign and the cost

AED cabinet cost 2026: $118 to $882, and which one you need thumbnail, AED Best Brands

AED cabinet cost 2026: $118 to $882, and which one you need

Does Stop the Bleed certification expire? No date, but skills fade thumbnail, AED Best Brands

Does Stop the Bleed certification expire? No date, but skills fade

No published expiry: the American College of Surgeons sets no expiration date or renewal interval.
⚡ Never miss an expiry

Recall alerts + maintenance reminders, monthly.

PMA

Every model FDA-approved, verified in the premarket approval database

0

Paid placements. Independent of every AED manufacturer

30-day

Pricing, recall, and FDA status verification cycle

3

Free calculators behind every recommendation: quiz,cost, quantity

The same OnSite for $875
Recertified, minimum three year warranty
$1,589 new$875Save $714, 45 per cent
Minimum three year warranty, guaranteed. Three of the nine US sellers we checked on 21 September 2026 give only one year.
Same device. The recertified unit is identical M5066A hardware, inspected and tested before resale.
FDA approved through premarket approval, a PMA number. AEDs are not cleared under 510(k), and a recertified unit sits under the same approval as the new one.
$714 back in your budget covers roughly 7 sets of replacement pads at $99 each, which is the part that actually expires. Free shipping over $199 in the contiguous United States.
A recertified AED is a used device. That is why the three year warranty matters more than the price. If the warranty were one year we would not recommend it.
New $1,589 and recertified $875 verified 15 September 2026 at AED Leader and Response Ready. Both stores matched.
Scroll to Top