The Philips HeartStart OnSite is already the value pick of the Philips line. The recertified version takes the same device, the same voice coaching, the same over-the-counter status, and removes several hundred dollars from the price. That is the entire pitch, and for most budget-driven buyers it is enough. What you give up is warranty length and the factory-fresh serial number. What you keep is everything that makes the OnSite the most-deployed home and small-business AED in the US.
This review covers what recertification actually means, what you keep, what you give up, and the specific buyer profiles where that saving belongs in your pocket rather than in the box.
Verdict: the cheapest legitimate way into a Philips AED
Our verdict
Same device, same FDA approval pathway, at a lower stock-dependent price
A recertified OnSite is not a different product. It is the identical M5066A hardware, resold after inspection and testing by a distributor, below the $1,589 2026 list price; the exact figure moves with stock, so verify the current listing. AED Leader backs its recertified units with a minimum 3-year warranty and states each unit passes its published 9-point certification process before sale. The trade is warranty length: 3 years versus 8 on a new unit. If the device will sit in a home, a church, or a small office where the alternative was buying nothing, the recertified OnSite is the strongest dollar-for-dollar defibrillator purchase on this site.
Refurbished Philips HeartStart OnSite AED: refurbished, recertified and pre-owned are one device
Sellers use all three words for the same thing: a used Philips HeartStart OnSite (M5066A) that a biomedical technician has tested, cleaned, updated and fitted with a new SMART Pads cartridge and a new M5070A battery. What differs between sellers is the warranty and what ships in the box, which the seller table below compares. AED Leader: $875, price checked 18 September 2026.
What “recertified” actually means, and what it does not
Recertified is not a synonym for used. A used AED is a private resale with no inspection and no warranty, and we do not recommend buying one. A recertified AED comes from a distributor that inspects, tests, cleans and re-validates the unit, replaces expired consumables, and sells it with its own warranty. AED Leader, the distributor our links route to, states every pre-owned unit passes a 9-point certification process covering analysis, testing, cleaning and upgrades before it is listed[6].
Two things do not change with recertification. First, the regulatory status: the OnSite is an FDA-approved device under the premarket approval pathway that has been mandatory for AED systems since 2015[3], and that approval belongs to the device model, not to the individual box. Verify the current PMA record and labeling for your exact variant in the FDA PMA database[2] and check the model against the FDA recall database[4] before purchase, exactly as you would with a new unit. Second, the over-the-counter status: the OnSite’s no-prescription labeling applies to the model, so a recertified OnSite is still the one AED an individual can simply order[5].
The recertification process, compared across seven sellers
Seven sellers of recertified AEDs were checked on 12 September 2026. Five of them state a numbered recertification process. Only two publish what the numbers contain. AED.com asserts a 10-point process, CalMed asserts 10-point, AED Superstore asserts 10-point and American AED asserts an 18-plus point process, and none of the four lists a single step anywhere on the site, including their dedicated recertified landing pages and help-centre articles. AED Market gives no number at all.
| Seller | Process claimed | Steps published | Warranty on a recertified unit | Returns | New OEM pads and battery stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AED Leader | 9-point | Yes, all nine | 3 years minimum | 30 days | Yes, both |
| Response Ready | 9-point | Yes, all nine | 3 years minimum | 30 days | Yes, both |
| AED.com (Cardio Partners) | 10-point | No | 3 years | 30 days | Batteries and adult pads |
| AED Superstore | 10-point | No | 3 years | Not stated | Yes, both |
| American AED | 18-plus point | No | 3 years | Not stated | Yes, both |
| CalMed Equipment | 10-point | No | 4 years | 30 days | Yes, both |
| AED Market (CoroMed) | No number given | No | 1 year | 30 days, then 20 per cent restocking | Yes, both |
A number with no list behind it is a marketing claim, not a specification. When two sellers quote 10-point and 9-point, the one you can read is the one you can hold them to.
The nine steps, as published
These are the steps AED Leader and Response Ready publish for every recertified unit, including this OnSite. Reproduced so they can be checked against any other seller's claim.
- The unit is tested on a Fluke Impulse 7000 defibrillator analyser, simulating a shockable rhythm to confirm joule output.
- The performance record is documented on both paper and digital media.
- New genuine OEM pads and a new genuine OEM battery are fitted, at the maximum available expiry length.
- The unit is upgraded to the current AHA guidelines.
- It is cleaned and sanitised and given a full digital inspection, with the lid or case replaced if needed and a new first responder kit included.
- Internal circuitry is tested to confirm the unit will keep running its periodic self-tests after it ships.
- It is packed and shipped to medical device shipping requirements.
- Pad and battery expiry dates are archived so 60-day and 30-day replacement notices can be issued.
- EMS and FDA compliance follow-up is completed and tracking data is submitted to the manufacturer, so the owner is reachable in a recall.
Step nine is the one buyers overlook and the one that matters most. An AED that is not registered with the manufacturer cannot be reached when a recall is issued, and a unit bought privately or from a marketplace listing usually is not.
The warranty line nobody prints
That does not make a recertified AED a bad buy. It makes the seller's warranty the entire warranty, which is exactly why the spread between one year and four years is the number to compare, and why a seller who will not tell you what their process contains is asking for more trust than they have earned.
Where this sits with the FDA
The FDA's final guidance Remanufacturing of Medical Devices, issued 9 May 2024, draws the line between servicing and remanufacturing at one test: whether the work significantly changes the finished device's performance specifications, safety specifications or intended use. Work that returns a device to the original manufacturer's specification and original intended use is servicing. Every seller in the table frames its work exactly that way, and none of them claims registration as a remanufacturer. The recertified OnSite you buy is the same device under the same premarket approval, P160029, that the new one carries.
Is a refurbished Philips AED safe?
Yes, when the seller documents the work. A recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite is the same FDA-approved (PMA P160029) M5066A, inspected and tested, with new pads and a new battery fitted. AED Leader sells it at $875 with a 3-year warranty, a 9-point inspection and a 100% money-back guarantee. Avoid private used units with no test record or warranty.
Check the $875 recertified OnSite at AED Leader · Response Ready for 5 or more units
New vs recertified: the honest comparison
| Factor | New OnSite (M5066A) | Recertified OnSite (M5066A-Rec) |
|---|---|---|
| Price, checked 21 Sep 2026 | $1,589 | $875 at AED Leader and Response Ready |
| Hardware | Identical | Identical, inspected and re-validated |
| FDA status | FDA-approved model (PMA pathway) | Same, approval follows the model |
| Prescription needed | No | No |
| Warranty | 8 years, Philips | Minimum 3 years, distributor |
| Pads and battery | New in box | Distributor states new accessories; confirm at order |
| Best for | Grant purchases, longest ownership | Homes, churches, second units, tight budgets |
The warranty gap is the real cost of the discount. Eight years of Philips coverage against a minimum of three from the distributor. Price that gap honestly: the purchase saving buys roughly five fewer covered years. If your deployment plan already replaces or upgrades units inside five years, you are paying for coverage you will never use, and the recertified unit wins outright.
Recertified Philips OnSite AED price: what nine US sellers charge
Prices checked 21 September 2026 on each seller's own listing. The bare recertified device runs $699 to $875, and the median across all nine is $775. A lower price usually buys a shorter warranty, and one seller ships a re-celled battery instead of a new Philips one.
| Seller | Price | Warranty | Battery | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment Express | $699 | 3 years | New | Kit with adult pads, carry case and response kit |
| Live Action Safety | $749.99 | 2 years, limited | Included, new not stated | |
| Enerspect | $750 | 1 year | Re-celled, not new Philips | Stock not confirmed on the listing |
| AED.us (Encore Series) | $775 | 1 year | New factory | |
| AED Market | $775 | 1 year | New | 30-day return, then 20 per cent restocking |
| CalMed Equipment | $800 | 4 years | New Philips | |
| AED Leader | $875 | 3 years minimum | New Philips | All nine test steps published |
| Response Ready | $875 | 3 years minimum | New Philips | Multi-unit and fleet orders |
| AED.com (Cardio Partners) | $1,209.99 | 3 years | New | Home package with accessories, not the bare device |
Cheapest is not the test. Three checks decide whether a recertified unit is safe to buy: the battery is new Philips stock, not re-celled; the warranty is in writing and at least three years; the test process is published, not just numbered. Buying five or more units? Response Ready quotes fleet orders at the same $875 unit price.
The money math over a realistic ownership window
Five-year cost, checked 21 September 2026Pads and battery cost the same on either unit, so the purchase gap is the whole story. In five years both units need two replacement SMART Pads cartridges (two-year use-by date) at $99 each and one M5070A battery (about four years of standby) at $249, all AED Leader prices.
| Line | New OnSite | Recertified OnSite |
|---|---|---|
| Device | $1,589 | $875 |
| Pads, 2 x $99 | $198 | $198 |
| Battery, 1 x $249 | $249 | $249 |
| Five-year total | $2,036 | $1,322 |
| Warranty | 8 years, Philips | 3 years minimum, distributor |
The recertified unit saves $714 over five years, 35 per cent of the new-unit total.
Buy the recertified OnSite if you are
- A homeowner or family protecting a household, where roughly 70% of out-of-hospital cardiac arrests happen[5], and $1,589 was the reason you had not bought one
- A church, nonprofit or community building buying on donations
- A small business adding a second or third unit to cut collapse-to-shock distance
- A buyer standardizing on Philips who wants trainers and spares cheaply
Skip it and buy something else if you are
- Spending grant or public money that requires new equipment with manufacturer warranty, buy the new OnSite
- Deploying where children are a primary population, the recertified FRx covers pediatric use with its Infant/Child Key at a similar recertified price
- Wanting real-time CPR depth coaching, no OnSite does that, the ZOLL AED Plus is the pick
Recertified alternatives worth pricing first
| Option | Price, 21 Sep 2026 | Why it wins | Why it loses |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recertified OnSite | $875 | Cheapest OTC Philips, simplest handoff | 3-year warranty vs 8 new |
| Recertified FRx | $875 | Rugged, pediatric key, same price | Overkill indoors |
| HeartSine 350P, new | $1,411 | New-unit warranty, one-date consumable cartridge | $536 more, prescription workflow |
| New OnSite | $1,589 | 8-year Philips warranty | More up front for identical hardware |
Not sure recertified is the right lane at all? Start with the refurbished AED guide for the full landscape, or take the 60-second quiz and let your building answer for you.
Recertified AEDs from $875: the 7 models that sell
Same FDA-approved (PMA) hardware for 38% to 58% less than new, each with a 3-year seller warranty at AED Leader. Prices checked 4 October 2026.
| Recertified model | Price | New | You save | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philips OnSite recertified | $875 | $714 (45%) | Check price | |
| Philips FRx recertified | $875 | $1,224 (58%) | Check price | |
| ZOLL AED Plus recertified | $875 | $1,207 (58%) | Check price | |
| ZOLL AED 3 recertified | from $1,150 | $1,249 (52%) | Check price | |
| HeartSine 450P recertified | $875 | $886 (50%) | Check price | |
| HeartSine 350P recertified | $875 | $536 (38%) | Check price | |
| Powerheart G5 recertified | $1,225 | $932 (43%) | Check price |
Buying 5 or more? Response Ready handles fleet orders. Compare all of them in the best refurbished AEDs.
Recertified OnSite: the questions buyers actually ask
Is a recertified Philips OnSite safe to rely on?
The hardware is the same FDA-approved M5066A, and the distributor re-validates each unit before sale. AED Leader states every pre-owned unit passes its 9-point certification process and carries a minimum 3-year warranty. The device also self-tests daily, exactly like a new OnSite, and chirps when something needs attention.
Is it legal to buy a recertified AED?
Yes. AED systems are FDA-approved under the premarket approval pathway, and that approval follows the device model through authorized distribution. Verify the PMA record and labeling for your exact variant in the FDA PMA database before purchase, the same diligence we recommend for new units.
Do I need a prescription for a recertified OnSite?
No. The OnSite’s over-the-counter labeling belongs to the model, and it is the only AED with that status, so a recertified OnSite still requires no prescription.
What warranty does a recertified OnSite carry?
AED Leader lists a minimum 3-year warranty on recertified units. A new OnSite carries 8 years from Philips. That 5-year gap is the honest price of the discount.
Are the pads and battery new?
The distributor states units ship with new accessories. Confirm the pad and battery expiry dates on your order confirmation, and log both dates the day the unit arrives, recertified or new, that habit is the whole maintenance program.
Is Philips HeartStart discontinued?
No. The HeartStart OnSite (M5066A) is still listed as a current product on Philips’ US site as of September 2026, and the FRx and FR3 remain in the range. What has changed is naming: Philips calls the OnSite the HS1 in some markets, which is why you see both names on recertified listings.
Is there a recall on Philips HeartStart defibrillators?
There have been FDA Class 2 recalls on the OnSite in the past: a 2019 recall of 96 units for a circuit-board supplier issue (terminated by FDA in April 2024) and a 2021 notification recall covering earlier actions. Both were handled by free exchange. A recertification checks the serial number against these actions; ask the seller to confirm it in writing and check the FDA recall database yourself.
What is the life expectancy of the Philips HeartStart AED?
Philips does not publish an end-of-life date for the OnSite. Readiness is governed by the consumables: the M5070A battery is rated four years typical from installation and the SMART Pads cartridge at least two years from manufacture. Recertified units on the market today are commonly 8 to 15 years old and are sold with a new battery and pads.
How often do Philips AED pads need to be replaced?
Every two years at most: the SMART Pads cartridge is labeled with a use-by date of at least two years from manufacture, and after any use. Adult SMART Pads are $99 at AED Leader (18 September 2026). The battery is on a separate four-year cycle at $249.
Are refurbished AEDs worth it?
For most single-unit buyers, yes. A recertified OnSite costs $875 at AED Leader against $1,589 new, and over five years the totals are $1,322 against $2,036 because pads and battery cost the same on either unit. What you give up is warranty: a minimum of 3 years against Philips' 8. Buy new if the unit must stay under manufacturer warranty past year three or the purchase uses grant money that requires new equipment.
How much does a Philips HeartStart defibrillator cost?
At AED Leader on 21 September 2026: the HeartStart OnSite is $1,589 new or $875 recertified, the OnSite value package is $1,581.80, and the HeartStart FRx is $2,099 new or $875 recertified. Replacement OnSite SMART Pads are $99 and the M5070A battery is $249.
Recertified vs refurbished vs used: what is the difference?
Used means a private resale, no inspection, no warranty, avoid it. Refurbished and recertified are used interchangeably by most distributors and mean inspected, tested and re-validated units sold with a warranty. What matters is not the word, it is whether the seller publishes a process and stands behind the unit in writing.
Sources
- FDA: Automated External Defibrillators. fda.gov
- FDA Premarket Approval (PMA) database. accessdata.fda.gov
- Federal Register: Effective Date of Requirement for Premarket Approval for AED Systems (2015). federalregister.gov
- FDA Recalls database. accessdata.fda.gov
- American Heart Association: AED Implementation Guide. cpr.heart.org
- AED Leader: Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite listing, price, warranty and certification process. aedleader.com
Prices are 2026 US list or distributor listings current at publication and change without notice. Recertified inventory, included accessories and warranty terms are set by the distributor; confirm them on your order. Verify the PMA record, labeling and recall status of your exact variant before purchase. This page is editorial guidance, not medical or legal advice.
- •A recertified OnSite is the same FDA-approved device, restored: tested to spec, fitted with new pads and battery, and re-warrantied.
- •It costs far less than new while keeping the same PMA approval (P160029). The value comes from a documented recertification, so ask for the test report.
- •Good for homes and small offices: the OnSite’s SMART Pads and voice coaching suit untrained users. See how to choose a refurbished AED or best refurbished AEDs.
Get a recertified Philips OnSite
You know what recertified should include. See our recertified and refurbished units in stock with 2026 pricing, warranty terms, and fresh pads and battery.